Election Round-Up: BJP wins in Gujarat, Karnataka, and Uttar Pradesh by-polls

Election Round-Up: BJP wins in Gujarat, Karnataka, and Uttar Pradesh by-polls

The party sweeped Gujarat and Karnataka, while winning six out of seven seats in Uttar Pradesh, losing one to Samajwadi Party

With a complete sweep, the BJP retains power with cent per cent victories in Gujarat and Karnataka, and they won six out of seven seats in Uttar Pradesh. The situation in Telangana is still too early to call, as the margin is very small. Meanwhile, the party lost to INC in Haryana and INC and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha in Jharkhand.

The Nagaland Democratic Progressive Party and the Independent candidate each win one of the two seats up for grabs in Nagaland, and the Biju Janata Dal enjoys a comfortable lead over BJP in Odisha. The same is the situation in Chhattisgarh with the INC having an almost 40,000 advantage over BJP.

Apart from Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, several by-elections are happening across the country in states such as Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Manipur, and others. While the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance is leading in Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, the party is also cementing their foothold in other places.

Manipur Updates:

BJP has won three out of five seats in the Manipur by-polls. While an independent candidate they support — Y Antas Khan — has won from Lilong. Meanwhile, the Wangoi constituency witnessed an interesting battle between BJP and their state alliance partner National People’s Partner. The latter lost to the BJP candidate with a margin of 257 votes. The state had gone to the by-polls after four MLAs of the Congress party resigned from both the assembly as well as the party. They later joined BJP. Now, with the four seats under their kitty, with one more possible seat, the BJP has strengthened their power in the state.

Chhattisgarh Updates:

INC’s Dr KK Dhruw is currently leading in the Marwahi constituency against BJP’s DR Gambeer Singh with a strong margin of almost 20,000 votes.

Haryana Updates:

INC’s Indu Raj is leading in Baroda with around 10,000 votes against Olympian wrestler and BJP candidate Yogeshwar Dutt. If Dutt loses, it would be his second time, as he had lost to Congress’ Shri Krishna Hooda the last time around in the same constituency. The latter’s demise had led to the by-election and it seems that the Olympian cannot catch a break.

Gujarat Updates:

BJP is likely to sweep the by-polls as they are leading in all eight constituencies. Except for in Morbi, the party’s lead is considerably large and is comfortable enough to secure a majority. Much like a few other places, the by-polls here were necessitated because the sitting Congress MLAs quit the party ahead of the Rajya Sabha election, and five of them joined the BJP.

Uttar Pradesh Updates:

BJP is looking to win in six of the seven seats in question. While Samajwadi Party’s Lucky Yadav is leading in Malhani, they are trying to close the gap in Tundla and Naugawan Sadat. Interestingly, the BJP is leading in Bangermau, where the previous BJP MLA Kuldeep Singh Sengar was convicted in a rape case, thus opening up the constituency for by-poll. Five of them opened up when the incumbents died, and Tundla constituency’s MLA was elected to the Lok Sabha.

Karnataka Updates:

BJP’s Munirathna takes a win in the Rajarajeshwarinagar while their Sira candidate Dr CM Rajesh Gowda has a comfortable lead against INC.

Telangana Updates:

BJP’s Madhavaneni Raghunandan Rao is currently leading against Telangana Rashtra Samithi’s Solipeta Sujatha. However, Sujatha has been able to chip away at BJP’s lead and has now closed the margin to 174.

Odisha Updates:

The ruling Biju Janata Dal is leading in both constituencies — Balasore and Tirtol — while BJP is closing in on the Balasore seat.

Jharkhand Updates:

BJP is also having a difficult time here since Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and INC is leading in both the constituencies for the by-poll. The BJP is having a difficult time covering the lead.

Nagaland Updates:

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party is currently leading in Southern Angami-I by a slender margin against Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo. In Pungro Kiphire, Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam is leading over the Independent candidate S Kiusumew Yimchunger.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The NationWide