Congress faced bigger challenges, will come back stronger, says K Muraleedharan after poll debacle

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala attacked Pinarayi Vijayan, alleging that there is a deal between the CPM and the BJP in 69 seats
K Muraleedharan
K Muraleedharan Facebook

Following a poor performance in the recent Kerala Assembly elections, senior Congress leader K Muraleedharan has said that the Congress has gone through a bigger crisis in the past.

"Congress has gone through big crises in the past also. Even in Punjab and Haryana, the party were in the Opposition for nearly 10 years. But the CPM is a big zero in Bengal and Tripura where they ruled for decades,” Muraleedharan said, adding that Congress will come back to power with full force.

He also slammed the Pinarayi Vijayan government for attacking those criticising them. “Even the second Vijayan government is attacking critics with stones. They should not be arrogant and rule people just because they won the lottery," he said.

Muraleedharan claimed that that Vijayan is more concerned over the drop in BJP's votes. "Instead of being humble after getting a second term, the CM is blaming the Opposition," Muraleedharan said, adding that Vijayan is now appealing for support from the Opposition after making allegations against them.

Since winning the Assembly election, Vijayan has attacked the Opposition in Kerala and also alleged that the Congress and the BJP are involved in vote trading.

Muraleedharan also alleged that CPM leaders were making absurd statements after winning 99 seats in the Kerala Assembly election. “CPM leaders are making statements like they are going to capture India with 99 assembly seats in Kerala because their heads are filled with pride," he said. Muraleedharan also added that the UDF is happy over closing BJP's account in Nemom.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala attacked Vijayan for alleging vote sharing between the UDF and the BJP. Chennithala instead alleged that there is a deal between the CPM and the BJP in 69 seats.

"If you look at the figures, you will see that it was the Congress that stopped the BJP from pushing forward. Due to that, the BJP could not win the Nemom seat that they won in 2016. Again, it was the Congress that stopped BJP from winning in Manjeswaram and Palakkad seats," he said.

The NationWide